Each year the National Book Foundation presents awards to winners in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. The four winners for 2013 were announced last night at a ceremony in New York City. This year’s winners are:


Fiction: The Good Lord Bird by James McBride

Nonfiction: The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America by George Packer

Young People’s Literature: The Thing About Luck by Cynthia Kadohata

Poetry: Incarnadine by Mary Szybist



We have created a list that features this year’s winners, finalists, and longlist titles in Marketplace.


Established in 1950, the National Book Award is one of the most distinguished literary awards in the United States. Past winners include William Faulkner, Philip Roth, Flannery O’Connor, Alice Walker, and Allen Ginsberg.


To be eligible for a 2013 National Book Award, authors had to be American citizens and published books in the United States between December 1, 2012, and November 30, 2013.


Rachel Somerville is a Collection Development Analyst at OverDrive.


Comments are closed.