Lauren Fox won me over a few years ago when I read Friends Like Us in one sitting. I was so excited to hear she had a new novel coming out and she did not disappoint! In fact, I think Days of Awe is her best novel yet and I’m betting this novel takes her from critical acclaim to household and bestseller fame.

{872A93BA-AC00-491B-897B-E152344AC0E9}Img400Days of Awe is an achingly funny novel about love, loss, family, friendship, and moving on. In less than a years’ time, Isabel Moore went from being happily married to apathetically separated and her preteen daughter went from adoring her mother to being a moody insomniac. The catalyst that seemed to create this unraveling was the death of Josie, her flamboyant, wild, and unconventional best friend. She was killed in a single-car accident that left Isabel wondering if it truly was an accident or a suicide. As Isabel tries to make sense of this unbearable loss, she pieces together the years and months leading up the Josie’s death and discovers that her life was not as it seemed.

Throughout the process, Isabel end up learning more about herself than Josie’s death. But what struck me most was Fox’s honest portrayal of love and loss. Anyone who has ever mourned the sudden death of a loved one or suffered the pains of a broken heart will connect with the characters on a deep level.

This book will appeal to a wide audience as it straddles the line between contemporary romance and literary fiction. Fans of Anne Tyler and Jane Smiley will love the rich family dynamic and fans of Maria Semple and Jennifer Close will appreciate the cleverness and humor. The candor and authentic portrayal of female friendship will be appreciated by all readers. A perfect book club pick, Days of Awe will leave readers breathless and anxious for the next Lauren Fox novel.

This title will be available to borrow from your library on August 4th but you can place a hold right now!

Rachel Kray is a Collection Development Analyst at OverDrive

Comments are closed.