By: Liz Tousey, OverDrive Collection Development Analyst

When people hear the word “romance” in regards to books they often think of old regency paperbacks and erotica. These are, of course, a big part of the genre but the truth is that romance is incredibly popular for all ages. Romance includes everything from books about friendship and young love for teens to the sauciest of fantasy stories and everything in between. Given that February is a big time for Romance reads we thought we’d give you a collection of our favorite books in the genre for all types of readers. These titles go from picture books for those learning to read all the way to our favorite steam selections. For obvious reason you may not want to curate this as a single collection on your digital library. 🙂

(All of these books can be found in OverDrive Marketplace for purchase)

1. Heart 2 Heart by Lois Ehlert

With it’s bold images and simple text, this is a perfect picture book for the youngest of readers.

2. Delivery by Aaron Meshon

Follow a box of cookies around the world as they are baked and delivered with love.

3. Playing Cupid by Jenny Meyerhoff

A new Wish book by Jenny Meyerhoff about matchmaking, secret admirers, and crushes for kids 8 and older.

4. When My Sister Started Kissing by Helen Frost

Still recovering from their parents’ divorce and on summer vacation, tween-aged Claire’s older sister starts spending more time with boys and less time with Claire in this book about family and growing up without growing apart. For ages 10 and older.

5. Loving Vs. Virginia by Patricia Hruby Power and Shadra Strickland

A novelization of the landmark civil rights case that overturned laws banning interracial marriage. For ages 12 and up.

6. Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Love is an elaborate carnival performance in this dark and intriguing read-alike to The Night Circus. For ages 13 and up.

7. History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

For those who need all the feels, this book about love, loss, and grief will go straight to your heart and pour out of your eyes. For older teens and up.

8. Because You’re Mine by Colleen Coble

A Christian romantic suspense novel, this book is great for those who love a fast-paced story and an inspirational ending.

9. My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

Reality versus life as shown in social media comes into question in this new workplace dramedy. Is considered a subtle romance for readers who don’t enjoy explicit romanctic details.

10. Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

An epic fantasy saga, Book 2 of Bouchet’s Kingmaker Chronicles is action-packed and great for readers who love romantic adventure. Considered warm to slightly steamy by romance fans.

11. Devil in Spring by Lisa Kleypas

Book 3 of Kleypas’s latest Ravenels series, which also includes characters from her popular Wallflowers series. A highly-anticipated novel for fans of her books. Considered warm by romance fans.

12. Into the Fire Jeaniene Frost

For those who still love a good vampire romance, Jeaniene Frost brings us her latest in the urban fantasy Night Prince series. Considered warm to hot by romance fans.

13. Forged in Desire by Brenda Jackson

Known for her great characters, Brenda Jackson brings us a new seres with a tagline that says it all: “Private security just got a whole lot more personal.” Considered hot and simmering by romance fans.

14. Hard Rhythm by Cecilia Tan

You know what they say about musicians- the drummers are always the most trouble. A jaded hostess in a private sex club meets a musician, and neither of them are looking for love, but can’t deny a connection. Considered full-boil steamy erotica.

Comments are closed.