If you loved the Big Library Read pick Anatomy of a Misfit as much as we did at OverDrive, it will be hard to move on. To make it easier on you, our staff librarians have curated a list of read-alikes. Check out the list highlights below.


If you’re looking for other Andrea Portes titles, try:

Andrea Portes – Hick Unbridled Books Hick is Portes’ debut novel. It is a coming-of-age tale about 13-year-old Luli, who has had enough of small-town life and hits the road to Las Vegas. The film adaptation (from Phase 4 Films (USA), LLC) starring Blake Lively and Chole Mertz is also available in streaming video.

Andrea Portes – Bury This Soft Skull Press In Bury This a 25-year-old cold case is reignited when a group of film students start making a documentary about the victim’s life.

Can’t get enough of misfits like Anika? Pick up these titles:

Stephen Chbosky – The Perks of Being a Wallflower MTV Books This cult favorite follows wallflower Charlie as he navigates freshman year, first dates, new friends, and family dramas.

Leah Rae Miller – The Summer I Became a Nerd Entangled Teen Madelyne Summers is a typical blonde cheerleader on the outside and a comic-loving nerd on the inside. When Logan, an adorkable comic shop employee, discovers her secret Madelyn faces a difficult decision: keep denying who she really is or risk losing Logan forever.
If you loved the “Mean Girls”-esque tone of Anatomy of a Misfit, check out these titles:

Lauren Oliver – Before I Fall HarperCollins e-books “Cupid Day” should be the best day of popular Samantha Kingston’s life, and it is… until she dies in an awful accident. However, she still wakes up the next morning.In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

Courtney Summers – Some Girls Are St. Martin’s Griffin Regina Afton used to be a member of the Fearsome Fivesome, an all-girl clique both feared and revered by the students at Hallowell High… until vicious rumors about her and her best friend’s boyfriend start going around. Now Regina’s been “frozen out” and her ex-best friends are out for revenge.

Click here for the full Marketplace list of these titles and even more Anatomy of a Misfit read-alikes.

 

*Some titles may have limited regional or platform availability.

If you would like more suggestions, the Collection Development Team is available to help create recommended lists. Email collectionteam@overdrive.com for more information today!

 

Michelle Ross is a Collection Development Analyst at OverDrive.

Michelle Ross is a Collection Development Analyst with OverDrive.

Comments are closed.