“Before we begin, I want to let you know that I’m broadcasting from my own personal audio booth that I built at the base of Mount Rushmore 15 years ago. And I built it before I had even written one word and here I am now, reading my book to you. What a country.” – Amy Poehler, Yes Please

Amy Poehler is well-known for her starring role as Leslie Knope on NBC’s “Parks and Recreation,” her years on “Saturday Night Live” and films like “Baby Mama” (and well-known in my heart as my imaginary best friend). In addition to her accomplishments in comedy, TV and film, she has now added author to her resume with her first book, Yes Please, out today from HarperCollins and Harper Audio.

Part memoir, part words of wisdom, part essays – the book offers a variety of interesting and often hilarious stories from throughout Poehler’s life and career. For fans of Bossypants and Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Yes Please will be a must-read.

The digital audiobook is highly recommended, as it truly stands apart from the written text. As a performer, Amy Poehler is an engaging narrator and takes advantage of the audio format. In addition to the author, audiobook listeners will get to enjoy guest readers including Poehler’s former “Saturday Night Live” Weekend Update co-anchor Seth Meyers, “Parks and Recreation” creator Mike Schur, Patrick Stewart, Carol Burnett, Kathleen Turner, and even Amy’s parents.

Another exciting feature of the audiobook is the element of live performance. The last chapter of the audiobook was recorded live on stage at the UCB Theater in Los Angeles. Check out the video below for a preview of Poehler reading live and make sure to meet what is sure to be a high demand from your patrons by visiting OverDrive Marketplace and adding Yes Please to your digital collection today!

*The audiobook format of this title is available to U.S. public and school libraries only. The eBook format of this title is available worldwide.

Melissa Marin is a Marketing Specialist at OverDrive. Amy Poehler is her spirit animal.

Comments are closed.